IEEE Heritage Circle: Our Honored Philanthropists Providing A Circle of Impact

Heritage Circle

The IEEE Heritage Circle, the cumulative giving donor recognition program of the IEEE Foundation, acknowledges the philanthropic spirit of those who have given back to IEEE throughout their career and lifetime. The IEEE Foundation designates each donor as an esteemed “Honored Philanthropist,” recognizing their dedication to giving back to IEEE, which has significantly impacted the profession and society. These generous donors help fund the donor-supported programs that take the necessary steps to provide progress and change by applying engineering and technical advances. They connect brilliant innovators to advance technological initiatives that promote growth, sustainability, and new ways to empower communities, ultimately aiming to create a better world for all.

In 2022, in preparation for the IEEE Foundation’s 50th Anniversary, new Heritage Circle levels were added to honor and recognize women, people of color, and LGBTQ+ community members, including Hertha Ayrton, Lewis Latimer, Marie Sklodowska Curie, Jagadish Chandra Bose, Alan Turing, and Edith Clarke. Giving levels in the Circle start at a cumulative US$10,000 donation and continue through the US$5,000,000+ cumulative giving level. 

In 2023, the IEEE Foundation welcomed 44 new Honored Philanthropists, bringing the total membership to 370. Additionally, 27 members were elevated to a higher level due to their generous giving.

“We are delighted to see continuous progress in the growth of the number of donors recognized through the Circle and remain steadfast in our commitment to encourage investment in IEEE social impact programs, at all levels of giving, as our donors are what makes the future we strive for possible.”

IEEE Foundation Executive Director Karen A. Galuchie.

Some of the programs supported by the Circle include TryEngineering, which awards grants to IEEE units for STEM activities, including hands-on engineering activities for school-age children; EPICS in IEEE, which engages many individuals university students in service-learning projects; and the Elizabeth and Emerson Pugh Young Scholar in Residence program, which provides research experience for scholars studying the history of technology and engineering. These are just some of the highlights of the latest news on IEEE Foundation activities, showcasing the positive impact of IEEE Heritage Circle donors on communities and future generations.

If you are interested in becoming an Honored Philanthropist, contact the IEEE Foundation team at

IEEE Heritage Circle List 2023
New Members

Alessandro Volta Level – ($1,000,000+)

Dr. Mani L. Bhaumik

Thomas A. Edison Level ($100,000+)

Applied Superconductivity Education Foundation
Delta Environmental and Educational Foundation
Keysight Technologies Foundation
Phi Gamma Delta of MIT Fund 

Alexander Graham Bell Level ($50,000+)

Vinton G. Cerf
James Graham
Darcy Lenden Immerman
Gunther and Shirley Karger
Jacob Kulangara, PE
Ottawa Tourism 
PowerWorld Corporation

Hertha Ayrton Level ($25,000+)

AMN Foundation
Carolann  Brockett
Nicholas Donofrio
Rodney S. Rougelot

Nikola Tesla Level ($10,000+)

Marc and Rose Apter
Bishnu S. Atal
Anjan Bose
Douglas Brockett
Rodney A. Brooks
Kenneth H. Crompton
Abbas A. El Gamal
Jill I. Gostin
Kiruba S. Haran
Erwin S. Hochmair
Ingeborg J. Hochmair
Gary R. and Marie C. Hoffman
Infineon Technologies Americas Corp.
Eileen M. Lach
Paul D. Luzbetak
Malcolm Mackey 
Jose’ M. Moura
Nancy Myers
Novinium, Inc.
Richard C. Pedersen 
Rich C. Ruby
Schauwecker Family Trust
James J. Truchard
Yoshisuke Ueda
Richard P. Waltermeyer
Dr. Stanley A. White
Mr. and Mrs. Howard L. Wolfman

IEEE Heritage Circle List 2023
Elevated Members

Jagadish Chandra Bose Level ($750,000+)

Qualcomm Incorporated
McMurtry Family Foundation 

Michael Faraday Level ($500,000+)

Northrop Grumman Corporation

James Clerk Maxwell Level ($250,000+)

Burns & McDonnell
Dr. Narain Hingorani
Jo-Ann and John McDonald

Marie Sklodowska Curie Level ($150,000+)

ARM Ltd.

Thomas A. Edison Level ($100,000+)

Elite Electronic Engineering
K.R. Gleason 
John P. Nelson

Lewis Latimer Level ($75,000+)

Leah H. Jamieson
Narayana N. Murthy
Donald R. Shepherd

Alexander Graham Bell Level ($50,000+)

Susan Larson
Asad Madni
Robert Bosch LLC

Hertha Ayrton Level ($25,000+)

Nim K. Cheung
David and Beverly Green
Hope Evangelical Free Church
NEC Technologies, Inc
A. M. Noll
Thomas Nondahl

Share This:

Related Stories
J. Baillieul

Honoring the Past While Encouraging the Future Through Memorial Giving


A Prolific Innovator was Inspired by the Visionary Professor James D. Meindl

2024 Heritage Circle Group

IEEE Solid-State Circuits Society and Former Students of James D. Meindl Honor the Late Professor and Industry Giant