Celebrating a Diverse Set of Innovators – Expanding the IEEE Heritage Circle


The IEEE Heritage Circle is the cumulative giving donor recognition program of the IEEE Foundation. It recognizes the indomitable philanthropic spirit of those who have compassionately given to IEEE and the IEEE Foundation throughout their life and career.

Each level of the IEEE Heritage Circle is named for great innovators in the fields of science and technology — Nikola Tesla, Alexander Graham Bell, Thomas A. Edison, James Clerk Maxwell, Michael Faraday, and Alessandro Volta — to honor the impact the Heritage Circle members are making to IEEE and throughout the world. As the IEEE Foundation’s philanthropy continues to grow, we want to acknowledge a diverse set of innovators throughout history who shaped the world in which we live. 

The IEEE Foundation is excited to announce an expansion of six additional distinguished names to our giving levels.The new levels honor a varied representation of the groundbreaking work of women, people of color, and the LGBTQ+ community members. These new levels honor — Hertha Ayrton, Lewis Latimer, Marie Sklodowska Curie, Jagadish Chandra Bose, Alan Turing, and Edith Clarke

The IEEE Heritage Circle giving levels are now:

Nikola Tesla Level


Hertha Ayrton Level


Alexander Graham Bell Level


Lewis Latimer Level

$75,000 – $99,999

Thomas A. Edison Level

$100,000 – $149,999

Marie Sklodowska Curie Level

$150,000 – $249,999

James Clerk Maxwell Level

$250,000 – $499,999

Michael Faraday Level

$500,000 – $749,999

Jagadish Chandra Bose Level

$750,000 – $999,999

Alessandro Volta Level

$1,000,000 – $2,499,999

Alan Turing Level

$2,500,000 – $4,999,999

Edith Clarke Level


The IEEE Foundation sees the expanded levels as an opportunity for inclusion, an important goal as we celebrate our 50th Anniversary. 

I’m excited to see the IEEE Foundation acknowledge engineers and technologists from underrepresented groups. Celebrating the diversity of our profession is important and a critical component in engaging our donors and inspiring their philanthropy to make an impact around the world.

Sarah Rajala
VP, Development, IEEE Foundation
Member, Nikola Tesla Level, IEEE Heritage Circle

The IEEE Foundation is incredibly grateful for the charitable commitment of the IEEE Heritage Circle’s loyal members. We look forward to further developing this community and meeting the challenges of exponential growth!

Honored Philanthropists are those whose donations and/or pledges to IEEE Foundation total US$10,000 or more since 1 January 1995. Automatically recognized as members of the IEEE Heritage Circle, donors are categorized within twelve giving levels ranging from US$10,000 to more than US$5M. Recognition levels are calculated at the end of each calendar year. The new levels go into effect for giving through the end of 2022 and the first listing will be published in the 2022 IEEE Foundation Annual Report. Learn more about the IEEE Heritage Circle.

Contact the IEEE Foundation Development Office at with questions or to arrange a confidential donor-giving discussion.

Share This:

Related Stories
J. Baillieul

Honoring the Past While Encouraging the Future Through Memorial Giving

Heritage Circle

IEEE Heritage Circle: Our Honored Philanthropists Providing A Circle of Impact


A Prolific Innovator was Inspired by the Visionary Professor James D. Meindl