Myron Zucker Student-Faculty Grant Recipients Announced

Zucker Grant Recipients

Congratulations to the recently-announced recipients of the 2021/2022 Myron Zucker Student-Faculty Grant. They are Dr. Mohammad Nasir Uddin, IEEE Fellow, and his team from Lakehead University, in Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada for their project on “FPGA Based Cost-effective Digital Protection Schemes for Reliable Protection of Large-scale Wind Farms” and Dr. JiangBiao He and his team from the University of Kentucky, in Lexington, Kentucky, USA, for their project on “High-Reliability Electric Propulsion Drives based on Digital Twin Technologies.” The grantees will commence their projects in September 2021 and be invited to present their final work at the 2022 IEEE Industry Applications Society (IAS) Annual meeting.

Pictured are Assistant Professor Petros Karamanakos (left) and doctoral student, Andrei Tregubov (right), of Tampere University in Finland who were among the 2020 Zucker Grant recipients for their project titled, “Robustness Enhancement of Model Predictive Control for Medium Voltage Drives.” Their work is scheduled to be presented during the virtual IEEE Industrial Applications Society General meeting in October 2021.

The Myron Zucker Student-Faculty Grant, established through the IEEE Foundation, thanks to its namesake, inventor, author and patent-holder Myron Zucker, annually awards up to two grants of up to US$25,000 for projects leading to publications from electrical engineering research. A list of previous Grant recipients is on the IAS website.

IEEE IAS, the program administrator, adheres to and honors Zucker's goals and objectives from when he made the gift that funds the Myron Zucker Student-Faculty Grant Program. They are to:

  • interest students and faculty in industry applications of electrical engineering
  • involve students and faculty in engineering problems related to the Scope of the IEEE Industry Applications Society
  • provide financial assistance to students for their education
  • provide seed money to allow faculty members to commence or expand teaching, research, or academic concentrations in industry applications of electrical engineering.
Zucker was an enthusiastic supporter and benefactor of IEEE IAS as well as to students preparing for the electrical engineering profession. Decades after he funded the establishment of the grant program and included a bequest in his estate plan that supports the balance of the IAS Myron Zucker Programs, his philanthropic investment in IEEE IAS and the next generation continues to pay dividends. His bequest earned him a place in the IEEE Foundation's elite, planned giving donor recognition group, the IEEE Goldsmith Legacy League.

To learn more about leaving a legacy gift to the IEEE Foundation, please fill out the interest form, or contact us at (732) 562-5446 or

IEEE Foundation

IEEE Development Office
445 Hoes Lane
Piscataway, NJ 08854, U.S.A.
Phone: +1 732-562-5349

Home  |  Contact & Support  |  Accessibility  |  Nondiscrimination Policy  |  Privacy & Opting Out of Cookies  |  Disclosures

© Copyright 2021 IEEE – All rights reserved. Use of this Web site signifies your agreement to the IEEE Terms and Conditions.
A not-for-profit organization, IEEE is the world's largest technical professional organization dedicated to advancing technology for the benefit of humanity.