Inspiring the Future

Biographies of the 2016 IEEE Foundation Board

Eleanor Baum

Eleanor Baum was Dean of Engineering at Cooper Union from 1987 to 2010.  Before that she was Dean of Engineering at Pratt Institute, an appointment which made her the first woman to head an engineering school in the US.  Dr Baum is a graduate of CCNY and Polytechnic University.  She is a former President of ASEE and of ABET, and a former Chairman of the New York Academy of Sciences.   Eleanor was also Chair of the Washington Accord, an international organization dealing with mutual recognition of engineering credentials. She worked in the Long Island aerospace industry, was on the advisory committee for the National Science Foundation, the Department of Energy, and various universities and companies. She was the recipient of five honorary doctorates and many other awards for her leadership in engineering education and  her efforts to increase the participation of women and minorities in the engineering profession. Dr Baum has been a director of three fortune five hundred corporations.  She was a trustee of Embry Riddle Aeronautic University and of Webb Institue.  She is an IEEE Fellow, and an active member of the IEEE Foundation Board.

Lyle D. Feisel

Dr. Feisel has been involved in IEEE activities since he chaired an AIEE/IRE Joint Student branch in 1960.   Since then, he has been a member of – and often chair of - sundry IEEE boards and committees. From 2001 to 2003, he was Chair of the Educational Activities Board and IEEE Vice President-Educational Activities. Most recently, Dr. Feisel was chair and then member of the IEEE Life Members Committee and was chair of the IEEE History Committee in 2012-13. Professionally, he served on the faculty of the SD School of Mines and then as the Founding Dean of Engineering at the State University of New York at Binghamton. He is a Fellow of IEEE, ASEE and NSPE. He is a registered Professional Engineer (ret).

David G. Green

David G. Green is serving his first term on the IEEE Foundation Board and has been an active volunteer for 35 years.  He has been on the faculty of the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering of the University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB) since 1981 and is currently serving as Undergraduate Program Director.  His areas of interest include software engineering, collaboration systems, computer networking, and the engineering design process. He serves on the project management team for the university’s Active Directory / Exchange projects.  He is a senior member of IEEE and has served as the IEEE Treasurer, IEEE Secretary, and IEEE Region 3 Director.  He was involved in early efforts leading to the IEEE GOLD and vTools and is on the Steering Committee of the IEEE Professional Productivity and Collaboration Tools project.

John Impagliazzo

Professor Emeritus John Impagliazzo represented the IEEE Computer Society as principal co-author and editor of the IEEE/ACM Computer Engineering Curriculum Report (CE2004); additionally, he helped produce the ACM/IEEE Computing Curricula 2005 Report (CC2005).  Dr. Impagliazzo chaired the IFIP Working Group 9.7 (History of Computing), chaired the ACM Accreditation Committee, and is an ABET/CSAC program evaluator for both computing and for engineering programs.  As an international evaluator or as an expert consultant, Impagliazzo assessed well over sixty computing programs worldwide.  Impagliazzo serves as the Editor-in-Chief of the ACM Inroads magazine, produced eighteen books, promotes computing ethics, and helps develop a history of computing.  He was a member of the IEEE History Committee and is currently a member of the ACM Education Board.  Impagliazzo is a Life Fellow of IEEE, a Fellow of CSAB, and a Distinguished Educator of ACM.

Leah H. Jamieson

Leah Jamieson is John A. Edwardson Dean of Engineering at Purdue University, Ransburg Distinguished Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, and holds a courtesy appointment in Purdue's School of Engineering Education. She served as 2007 IEEE President, 2005 IEEE VP-PSPB, and 2003 IEEE VP-TAB. Jamieson's research has focused on speech recognition and parallel signal processing algorithms. She is co-founder of the EPICS - Engineering Projects in Community Service - Program. Recognitions include the National Academy of Engineering's Gordon Prize for Innovation in Engineering and Technology Education, NSF Director's Award for Distinguished Teaching Scholars, Anita Borg Institute's Women of Vision Award for Social Impact, IEEE Education Society's Harriet B. Rigas Outstanding Woman Engineering Educator Award, IEEE’s Richard M. Emberson Award, and the Simon Bolivar medal from the National Ministry of Education of Colombia. Jamieson is a member of the U.S. National Academy of Engineering, an Eminent Member of IEEE-Eta Kappa Nu, a member of the American Academy of Arts & Sciences, and an IEEE Fellow.

Victor Lawrence

Dr. Lawrence is the Director of the Center for Intelligent Networked Systems, and Distinguished Research professor at Stevens Institute of Technology. He was the 1994-1995 Chair of the IEEE Awards Board, 1987-1991 Editor-in-Chief, IEEE Transactions on Communications and served from 1990-1993 on the IEEE Communications Society Board of Governors. He worked in the information technology and communications R&D field for over thirty years at AT&T, Lucent Technologies and Bell Laboratories. Lawrence has been a key proponent of R&D globalization and is championing the effort to bring fiber optic connectivity to Africa. He is a member of the National Academy of Engineering and a Fellow of IEEE and AT&T Bell Labs. Dr. Lawrence was a member of former South African President, Mr. Mbeki’s international advisory group on ICT, and also serves as Chairman of the Broadband Advisory Committee to the South African Government. He was also on the Board of Telkom South Africa. He is currently President of ICEC International Cultural Exchange Center.

John R. Treichler

John Treichler received his BA and MEE degrees from Rice University, Houston, TX in 1970 and his PhDEE from Stanford in 1977. He served as a line officer aboard destroyers in the US Navy from 1970 to 1974.  In 1977 he joined ARGOSystems in Sunnyvale CA and then helped found Applied Signal Technology, Inc. in 1984 after serving for a year as an Associate Professor of Electrical Engineering at Cornell University.  Applied Signal Technology, now a mission area within the Space and Airborne Systems (SAS) business unit of Raytheon, Inc, designs and builds advanced signal processing equipment used by the United States government and its allies for foreign intelligence collection.  He is currently the president of the Raytheon Applied Signal Technology business unit. He was elected a Fellow in the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) in 1991 and was awarded the IEEE Signal Processing Society’s Technical Achievement Award in 2000. He recently completed a three-year tour as the IEEE Signal Processing Society’s Vice President for Membership and Awards.


Who We Are


Stay Connected

  • LinkedIn logo

Did You Know?

The IEEE Foundation has served as the charitable arm of IEEE since 1973.

IEEE Foundation

IEEE Development Office
445 Hoes Lane
Piscataway, NJ 08854, U.S.A.
Phone: +1 732 465 5871
Email: donate@ieee.org

Home  |  Contact & Support  |  Accessibility  |  Nondiscrimination Policy  |  Privacy & Opting Out of Cookies  |  Disclosures

© Copyright 2016 IEEE – All rights reserved. Use of this Web site signifies your agreement to the IEEE Terms and Conditions.
A not-for-profit organization, IEEE is the world's largest technical professional organization dedicated to advancing technology for the benefit of humanity.